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SourceMedium’s Exclude $0 Orders feature removes otherwise-valid orders with Net Revenue of $0 from Executive Summary, YoY Performance, and Retention / LTV reporting when the feature is enabled. These orders are not removed from deep-dive pages such as Orders Deep Dive or Customer & Product modules.
  • Gross Revenue = line item price X quantity
  • Net Revenue = Gross Revenue - discounts - refunds
  • Total Revenue = Net Revenue + net shipping + net taxes + net shipping taxes
Your business generates $1,000 in Gross Revenue in the month of May, from 10 orders of $100 each. Nine regular orders have $5 shipping and $10 tax. One promo order has a $100 product discount and $5 shipping, but no tax.The promo order has $0 Net Revenue but $5 Total Revenue. When Exclude $0 Orders is enabled, SourceMedium removes that order from Executive Summary and Retention reporting.Let’s also assume that you’ve spent $500 on marketing in the month of May.
MetricsExclude $0 Order Turned OffExclude $0 Order Turned On
Spend$500$500
Orders109
Gross Revenue$1,000$900
Net Revenue$1,000 - $100 (discount) = $900$900
Total Revenue$900 + $50 (shipping) + $90 (tax) = $1,040$900 + $45 (shipping) + $90 (tax) = $1,035
AOV (Net Rev / Orders)$900/10 = $90$900/9 = $100
CPO (Spend / Orders)$500/10 = $50$500/9 = $55.56
ROAS (Net Rev / Spend)$900 / $500 = 1.80$900 / $500 = 1.80

Why turn on the Exclude $0 feature - the benefits & implications

There are many scenarios in which an otherwise-valid order could come out to a Net Revenue of $0, such as:
  • fully discounted orders
  • free promo orders
  • sample or comp orders
Fully refunded orders are usually excluded by SourceMedium’s standard valid-order payment status rules. The Exclude $0 Orders feature is most relevant for orders that otherwise remain valid but have $0 Net Revenue, such as samples, fully discounted orders, or free promos.
These orders aren’t necessarily useful for macro-level KPI reporting. Excluding them can reduce inflated order counts and keep metrics such as AOV, Cost Per Order/Acquisition, and retention analyses focused on revenue-generating orders.